The Paperwork Pregnancy

It’s been a while since we updated our blog, and lots of our friends have been asking us how things are going. We’re slowly moving forward. We completed our home study a couple of months ago, and are almost finished with our dossier. The dossier is a file with information that is sent to China, which includes the home study.

In two weeks, we’re going to have our THIRD (hopefully final) set of fingerprints and our dossier will be done. Then, we enter a period of waiting for a referral. We’re not really sure how long it will take to be matched, but it’s probably going to be a few months. Then, we wait a few more months after that to travel and pick up our little one. Realistically, it might be this time next year before we are parents.

Rob has started working on some grant applications to help us afford the process.

In the time that we’ve been working toward this goal, several of our friends have had babies or become pregnant. I can’t say that it hasn’t been difficult for me. I just have to remind myself that I can’t change our situation. All I can change is my outlook on the situation. I try to remind myself to be thankful for a very sweet and loving husband and lots of supportive friends and family.

-Bonnie (and Robert)

Image

2 thoughts on “The Paperwork Pregnancy

Leave a Reply

